PROFILE OF ARUSHA REGION

Arusha Region is one of Tanzania's 31 administrative regions. Its capital and largest city is the city of Arusha. The region is bordered by Kajiado County and Narok County in Kenya to the north, the Kilimanjaro Region to the east, the Manyara and Singida regions to the south, and the Mara and Simiyu regions to the west. Major towns include Monduli, Namanga, Longido, and Loliondo to the north, Mto wa Mbu and Karatu to the west, and Usa River to the east. The region is comparable in size to the combined land and water areas of the United States state of Maryland¹

Arusha Region is a global tourist destination and is the center of the northern Tanzania safari circuit. The national parks and reserves in this region include Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Arusha National Park, the Loliondo Game Controlled Area, and part of Lake Manyara National Park. Remains of 600-year-old stone structures are found at Engaruka, just off the dirt road between Mto wa Mbu and Lake Natron. With a HDI of 0.721, Arusha is one among the most developed regions of Tanzania.

History

Much of the present area of Arusha Region used to be Maasai land. The Maasai are still the dominant community in the region. their influence is reflected in the present names of towns, regional culture, cuisine, and geographical features.

The administrative region of Arusha existed in 1922 while mainland Tanzania was a British mandate under the League of Nations and known as Tanganyika. In 1948, the area was in the Northern Province, which includes the present day regions of Manyara and Kilimanjaro. In 1966, under the newly independent Tanzanian government, Arusha was given its own regional status.^[3]

In 2002, Manyara Region was created and was split from Arusha Region. Portions of the former Arusha Region districts of Kiteto, Babati, Mbulu, Hanang, and a tiny piece of Monduli were incorporated into the Manyara Region.

Arusha was the largest region in Tanzania from 1966-2002

Geography

The Great Rift Valley runs through the middle of the region north-to-south. Oldonyo Lengai (Mountain of God in the Maasai language) is an active volcano to the north of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area. Altitudes throughout the region vary widely, but much of it ranges from 900 to 1,600 metres (3,000 to 5,200 ft) in elevation

Mount Meru, the second highest mountain in Tanzania after Mount Kilimanjaro, peaks at 4,655 metres (15,272 ft). Arusha Region has the highest number of craters and extinct volcanoes in Tanzania. Other geographical features include the Monduli Mountains, Mount Loolmalasin, Mount Longido, and the Olduvai Gorge.

The city of Arusha, the capital of the region, is located at the southern foot of Mount Meru. The majority of Arusha residents live in the city and the surrounding southeastern part of Arusha Region.

Administration

Arusha Region is divided into one city and six districts, each administered by a council.

Districts of Arusha Region						
Мар	District	Population (2012)	Capital	Area km²		
Ngorongoro Mondulis Meru Karatu Arusha Rural Urban	Arusha City	416,442	Arusha	93		
	Arusha Rural District(in Arumeru)	323,198	Arusha	1,547.6[6]		
	Karatu	230,166	Karatu	3,300		
	Longido	123,153	Longido	7,782		
	Meru (in Arumeru)	268,144	Usa River	1,268.2[7]		
	Monduli	158,929	Monduli	6,419		
	Ngorongoro	174,278	Loliondo	14,036		
Total		1,694,310		34,526		

Demographics

According to the 2012 national census, the Arusha Region had a population of 1,694,310 The region is inhabited by various ethnolinguistic groups and communities. Among these are the Iraqw, Arusha, Maasai, Wameru, Sonjo, Chagga, Pare, and Nguu

Culture and cuisine

Nyama Choma, the Tanzanian barbecue, is a popular dish among some communities in the Arusha Region and a favourite in the North Eastern region of Tanzania, particularly the Maasai. Nyama Choma is properly served with a side of french fries and garnished with Pili Pili which translates from Kiswahili to English as a hot and tangy pepper sauce and cold local beer or soda. Another local dish is Ugali, a maize, wheat, or sorghum powder. Usually eaten with a stew/soup

Transportation

Roads

The A-23 Arusha-Himo road runs east-west and enters the region near Kilimanjaro International Airport. It connects Arusha with Moshi and then Himo at the Kenyan border. This roads ends at its junction with the A-104 road in the center of Arusha.

The A-104 runs northward, to the west of Mount Meru, from Arusha to Longido and Namanga at the Kenyan border before continuing to Nairobi. The A-104 also runs westward past Monduli to its junction at Makuyuni with the B-144 road that leads to Mto wa Mbu and the Ngorongoro Conservation Area. After that, the A-104 curves southward to the east of Lake Manyara and continues on to Babati and Dodoma.

Most overland travel is done by bus from the city of Arusha. Within the city and smaller towns, privately owned and operated *dala-dalas* (mini-buses) are used.

Waterways

The region is landlocked, and there are no navigable rivers. The larger lakes in the Rift Valley are not used for transportation. The region is home to Lake Eyasi, Lake Natron, Lake Duluti, Lake Empakaai, and the Momella lakes.

Airports

Arusha Region is home to the Kilimanjaro International Airport, which serves the cities of Moshi and Arusha. Its international carriers are Air tanzania, Airkenya Express, Air Uganda, Condor, Edelweiss Air, Ethiopian Airlines, Kenya Airways, KLM, Precision Air, Qatar Airways, RwandAir, Safarilink Aviation, and Turkish Airlines. Also Arusha Airport (Kisongo Airport) which serves small, medium and personal planes most to the attractive areas such as Serengeti national park, Seronera, Ndutu, Zanzibar etc. Planes using Kisongo Airport include Coastal Air, Flying Doctors, AMREF, Precision Air, TFC, Auric Air, Grumeti Air and other personal Planes.

Regional commissioners

The chief administrative officer of the region is the regional commissioner. Those who have served as regional commissioners for this region are

Name	From	То	Comments
Edward Barongo	1962	1962	first after independence
Peter Walwa	1962	1963	
Samuel Chamshama	1963	1964	first after union with Zanzibar
John Mhaville	1964	1964	second term

Wazir Juma	1964	1968	
Aaron Mwakangata	1968	1973	
Abdulanur Suleiman	1973	1978	
Peter Siyovelwa	1978	1981	
John Mhaville	1981	1982	
Charles Kileo	1983	1985	
Christopher Liundi	1985	1987	
Augustine Mwingira	1987	1990	
Anatoly Tarimo	1990	1992	
Ahmed Kiwanuka	1992	1995	
Daniel Ole Njoolay	1995	2003	longest serving commissioner
Mohammed Babu	2003	2006	
Abbas Kandoro	2006	2006	less than six months
Samuel Ndomba	2006	2007	
Isidore Leka Shirima	2007	2011	

Magesa Stanslaus Mulongo	2011	2014	
Daudi Felix Ntibenda	2014	2016	
Mrisho Gambo	2016	present	